Winding down.

Hi, I have been finding myself very stressed recently and I have been enjoying taking time out to just chill and look after myself. I thought that I’d share some of the ways that I have been doing this.

1. Movies

When I need to chillout, I find that there aren’t many better ways than to get totally enchanted by a movie. My favourites are Disney, musicals or a good old rom-com, so stick on your fave film, grab a good snack and get comfy. For my favourite movies, check out my blog post here.

2. Music

I find having a playlist of my favourite songs on my phone so great as it is great for on the go, or if you don’t have much time. For stress, I like listening to calming gentle songs, 00s RnB and Disney/musical theatre classics work for me (especially when there is no one around to hear me) but listen to whatever works best for you.

3. Meditation

I’m not usually one for meditation or anything but I find it really great for clearing my head. I love the app ‘Headspace’ and I also have the ‘Relax Melodies’ app which I also find really great.

4. Colouring

I was a bit late with the whole colouring craze so I’m sure that you’ve heard about it/done it yourself before. I find it so great at taking my mind off of things and just zoning  out for 30 minutes.

5. Pampering

A good old pamper evening never fails to take away my stress and relax me after a long day/week. Here are some of my essentials:

  • A bath with a bath bomb (my favourites include Twilight and Intergalactic by Lush)
  • Chilled music
  • A good book/movie/TV
  • My usual skincare + a face mask
  • An early night

6. A good sleeping routine

I find myself so grumpy and bad-tempered when I don’t get enough sleep, so I try to get at least 8 hours a night and aa a teenager, I find myself still wanting more!

7. Pre-planning

This may not work for everyone but I find myself so much less stressed when I have my week planned and written out on my calendar/in my phone. Every Sunday evening I like to go through and make sure that I know exactly what I’m doing each day.

That concludes my list of my favourite things to help with stress/relaxing/winding down. Thanks for reading and please leave any of your tips in the comments.

Love, Amelia ❤

Leave a Reply

